Submitted By: mthompson@nehalem.gov – Click to email about this post
The City of Nehalem will have the position of Mayor and all City Council positions on the ballot in the November 8, 2022 General Election. All positions are non-partisan. All positions are volunteer/non-paid. Terms begin January 2023. Although City Council position terms are typically 4 years, due to appointments to fill unexpired terms, some positions are for 2 year terms, as noted below.

Position Currently held by 2022 Election Term
Mayor Bill L. Dillard, Jr. Normal 2-year term
Council Position 1 Hilary Howell Normal 4-year term
Council Position 2 Ruben Bitts Special 2-year term
Council Position 3 Dave Cram Special 2-year term
Council Position 4 Phil Chick Normal 4-year term

Candidates must be a qualified voter and have resided in the City limits for at least one year immediately preceding the election.

Filing forms are available at City Hall or on the city website at www.nehalem.gov/elections

• Filing forms must be brought to Nehalem City Hall for approval before gathering signatures. (Please call ahead for an appointment.)

• Forms must be returned to Nehalem City Hall by August 15, 2022 to allow time for the city to submit the filing to the County Clerk for signature verification before filing closes on August 30, 2022.

For more information, visit or contact the City Elections Officer below:

City of Nehalem
Melissa Thompson-Kiefer, City Manager/Recorder
PO Box 143
Nehalem, OR 97131